Menu

Wife's Retirement Account Rollover

Home Retirement Accounts Wife's Retirement Account Rollover

• WorkingToFish WorkingToFish 
    Participant

Hey guys, I have a scenario I would like to propose with the following conditions:

1. My wife switched jobs from one institution to another. We are young, and she has about 28k in a 403b at the job that she left. She is now a school nurse and her retirement goes into a state sponsored 401a program. I am having trouble finding any decent information regarding how this is invested, so I am skeptical about rolling the money into this 401a.

2. I am currently a resident and my wife is planning on transitioning to a stay-at-home mom (we currently have a 2 year old son, she is 35 weeks pregnant, and we have plans for more kids in the future) once I graduate from residency, which will be in roughly 2.5 years.

So my question is, what are my best options for the pre-existing 403b at her prior employer? Given that she is planning on leaving the traditional workforce in 2.5 years, is it even worth rolling it over into her current 401a? Or would it be possible for me to open an individual 401k for the both of us given that I myself have 1099 income but she does not, and roll her 403b into said individual 401k?

We are already maxing out yearly rIRAs, FYI.

Looking forward to everyone’s input. I honestly have no idea how to best proceed.

I have never been lost, but I will admit to being confused for several weeks. - Daniel Boone

#195546 Reply
    jfoxcpacfp jfoxcpacfp 
    Status: Financial Advisor, Accountant, Small Business Owner

You will not be able to open a solo-k for your wife based upon your IC income. In this situation, I’d probably just leave the 403b where it is. Given her career path, I can imagine an option to do so IC work in the future and then set up a solo-k and roll it in.