Menu

Which Tax-exempt Bond Fund Should We Choose?

Home General Investing Which Tax-exempt Bond Fund Should We Choose?

Participant

My wife and I have a classic Boglehead three fund portfolio spread out throughout our Roth IRAs, HSA, and brokerage accounts. We don’t have access to any additional tax-advantaged vehicles. VBTLX is held in our Roth IRAs and HSA accounts. However, in order to maintain our asset allocation, we will need to hold bonds in our brokerage account. We would like to choose a bond fund with Vanguard. As small business owners (I’m a general dentist) our effective tax rate dropped from 29.63% in 2017 to 24.63% in 2018 despite an increase in our AGI. This includes a flat state tax rate of 4.63%.  Our marginal tax rate dropped from 33% in 2017 to 24% in 2018.  I am trying to decide between VTEAX and VWIUX (we would be able to contribute enough for the admiral shares immediately). We live in Colorado, and Vanguard doesn’t offer a Colorado-specific tax-exempt bond fund. Which should we choose and why? Should we choose a different fund? TIA.

#213384 Reply
    Participant

I’d choose VTEAX if I only wanted only one bond fund, as it includes a mixture of short-term, intermediate-term, and long-term bonds.

#213389 Reply
    Participant
    We don’t have access to any additional tax-advantaged vehicles

Click to expand…

no 401k, solo 401k, sep, nothing?

VBTLX is held in our Roth IRAs and HSA accounts.

Click to expand…

ugh, less than ideal. id probably put it in taxable before rIRA, but im a Roth snob.

I am trying to decide between VTEAX and VWIUX

Click to expand…

either probably. its an index so pros there.

i use VWIUX exclusively. im ok with it being actively managed.

#213394 Reply
    Liked by MaxPower
    Participant
    We don’t have access to any additional tax-advantaged vehicles 

Click to expand…

no 401k, solo 401k, sep, nothing?