Menu
The forum is temporarily closed for new topics and comments. We are working on improving your forum experience. Stay tuned!

Where are the Fatlittlepigs? Are Fatlittlepigs rare?

Home Personal Finance and Budgeting Where are the Fatlittlepigs? Are Fatlittlepigs rare?

• fatlittlepig fatlittlepig 
    Participant
    Earnest refinancing bonus

Deleted

#147454 Reply
    FunkDoc83 FunkDoc83 
    Participant

How long have you been earning 550k per year as a couple?  Even if you started at age 30, it seems unrealistic you would have amassed that much money in so little time.  Unless I’ve misunderstood your situation, something doesn’t add up, but of course I’m no expert.

#147458 Reply
    Liked by RocDoc, Kamban
    Participant

I feel like you’re leaving out (a significant) part of the story.  Even with very generous assumptions (started with no debt, have been making current salaries for all 10 years, tax rate 33%, yearly budget $60K/yr, investments making 10% a year), I can’t get you to $6M.  If you start at $0 at age 31, invest $300K/yr, at 10%, you get like $5M and change.  And that’s without having to pay off student loans, mortgage, etc.

That’s probably why there aren’t more fatlittlepigs.

So what are you forgetting?  Family inheritance?  Full scholarships?  A couple years with salaries over $1M?  Won the lottery?

#147459 Reply
    ENT Doc ENT Doc 
    Participant

Your situation is surely unique, and not for lack of trying.  I agree with others – we need more insight.

#147461 Reply
    Liked by Vagabond MD
    Participant

I wonder if the OP is counting the value of his house in that net worth calculation?  I could see someone hitting that target by age 41 IF they were fortunate enough to buy into a rapidly rising housing market before the prices really began to skyrocket.  Most parts of the US, though, don’t have such a market.

#147466 Reply
    Participant

[ad hominem attack deleted.]

#147468 Reply