Menu
This forum is no longer active. Please use the new forum at https://www.whitecoatinvestor.com/forum/

What's with this CBD oil fad?

Home The Lounge What's with this CBD oil fad?

Participant

Everyone and their dog seems to be either taking or asking about it? I can’t get some of these high risk patients to take their statin or get a flu shot, yet they will lap up some non-FDA approved chemical from some health food store.

#237969 Reply
    Liked by CM, hatton1, Peds, Lordosis
    Lordosis Lordosis 
    Participant

Placebo is a powerful thing.

“Never let your sense of morals prevent you from doing what is right.”

#237971 Reply

CBD flu vaccine….. brilliant!

#237973 Reply
    Participant

I’m no medical doctor, but I know ten or so 50 somethings that use CBD cream topically for pain. The oil does not appear to be as effective. It may be placebo, but it appears work on some pains but not others for the same person, so at least it is not just a placebo effect. I’d love to see a true blind study done on the efficacy.

#237978 Reply
    Participant

https://gimletmedia.com/shows/science-vs/wbhj24

This is the podcast “Science Vs” and their episode about CBD oil. It’s pretty interesting. Published in November of last year, so I’m unsure if there are any new studies.

Their episode on essential oils is also good.

#237982 Reply
    Participant

“But doc, it’s all natural!”

”Yeah, so is arsenic.”

#237987 Reply
    Liked by NYCdoc
    CordMcNally CordMcNally 
    Participant

You haven’t heard? CBD treats everything! CAD? CBD! Uncontrolled pseudoseizures? CBD! Fibromyalgia? CBD. Morgellon’s Disease? CBD. Hairy palms? CBD!

“But investing isn’t about beating others at their game. It’s about controlling yourself at your own game.”
    ― Benjamin Graham, The Intelligent Investor

#237991 Reply
    Participant

Ya I’m not sure if people think theyre getting high from it? People talk like it’s magic

#237997 Reply
    Participant