Menu

What should a 2nd year med student do with a $200,000 gift?

Home Personal Finance and Budgeting What should a 2nd year med student do with a $200,000 gift?

Participant

Hi WCI community,

I have a fortuitous situation on my hands, and I would like to get your opinion on how I can best leverage my options. I am a 28 year old second year medical student at an osteopathic program. I am married (wife is a ER nurse), no kids. Recently, I learned that we would be receiving an inheritance of about $200,000 at the end of the year. We are ecstatic, but we do not really have a plan for what to do when the money comes. I am going to list details of our financial situation. I would love to get some insight and opinions on what I could do put this money to best use to set my family up for financial freedom..

(I am a novice in the financial realm so please explain your answers simply)

Debts:

1) Student loans: Currently about $83k. Tuition is roughly $25k per semester, plus we take out about $6k per year of Grad PLUS loans. I plan to have about $250k in loans when I graduate.

My wife is planning on applying for Nurse Practitioner school this year, so add $60k to that final number of student loans.

2) I own a house in our hometown that we bought and renovated. Paid $72k for the house + renovations, it appraised for $92k. The mortgage is $500/month, we currently have it rented out for $1,000/month. (We plan on living in this house during my 3rd and 4th year of med school)

3) Car payment: Owe $27k on the wife’s car, payment is $333/month

Currently, my wife makes around $50k a year as a nurse, but that will decrease if she starts NP school. That allows us to live comfortably while only taking student loans to pay tuition.