Menu

Upcoming Med Student with three kids a wife and lots of current debt

Home General/Welcome Upcoming Med Student with three kids a wife and lots of current debt

Participant

Hi everyone. I’m a 28 year old pre med and have been accepted to a private MD program in my home state and will be attending there next fall. I am married with three young children ages 4, 2.5, and 8 months.

I currently work as a healthcare professional and my wife is an educator our combined income is just shy of $100k currently. We own a home but have significant debt including credit cards, undergraduate loans, and small car loans. Our debt load is upwards of $100k combined not including the mortgage.

We plan to sell the home as the school I will attend is in a different city and we expect, based on my own preliminary analysis and local comps, to walk away with a profit in the range of $35-$50k which will go towards the credit card debt and should eliminate that completely if all goes according to plan. Even if we still have some debt remaining we will finance that so its not such high interest. We plan to rent while in school and residency. My wife plans to work during and after my schooling and residency training and so we will have a small income (teacher salary) but that should help significantly over taking more loans.

My question really regards opportunities to finance my education. The school i will be attending has an accelerated program that is 3 years and has a “guaranteed” residency program outside of the match in the same city as the school but only for general Internal or Family medicine. The last 2 years are tuition free and as stated before there is no fourth year. Basically I would only have to pay for one year of school at $43k tuition (not including fees etc) but then would go into a primary care specialty listed and the payback requires me to stay in my state for at least 3 years and work in general primary care before doing any fellowships etc.