Menu

Transitioning to attending – 403b/457/RothIRA

Home Retirement Accounts Transitioning to attending – 403b/457/RothIRA

Participant
    Splash Refinancing Bonus

Hi all! First off, I apologize if this seems to duplicate other questions in the forum. I’m relatively new to this and starting to get educated. I tried searching through the forum but with so many posts, I have been struggling to figure this out on my own. I am finishing up fellowship in a few days and want to make sure I do my best to minimize mistakes as I transition to attending life.

My questions are as follows:

1. What should I do with my current retirement assets? Am I allowed/should I roll them over to my future employer’s 457 and 403b? If so is there any tax hit? If I roll-over amounts, does that limit how much I can put in my future employers accounts for the future?

2. My “Institution” plans are actually a single plan with a source allocation of 95.37% Roth 403b and 4.63% TSA (my first year I accidentally thought that the limit on roth 403b was the same as roth ira and thus I contributed to a TSA instead of the roth 403b). Will this cause me issues if I try to rollover this plan into my future institution’s 403b?

3. Do any of you have a good way to figure out the fees for each of your plans on fidelity? I got my numbers for yearly fees by seeing what the statement was for the past year, but I have no idea if these are calculated based on a percentage or a flat fee.