Menu

To Rent or Buy?

Home Personal Finance and Budgeting To Rent or Buy?

Participant

Hi Everyone! I’ve recently begun looking into all things WCI, and I am new to the forum. My husband and I are in an interesting situation. We both recently matched, and unfortunately, we will be in different states (PA & NY). We are looking into the possibility of him buying a house as his program is longer than mine, and I will most likely be moving to him once I finish my program. Does it make sense for him to buy and for me to rent? Should we be buying at all? I’m new to all things financial and would love some advice or general info on the subject. Thanks!!!!!!

#200382 Reply
    Participant

“Should we be buying at all?”

Are either of you congenitally rich such that you can pay cash for the house? If not, then no.

#200395 Reply
    Liked by portlandia
    portlandia portlandia 
    Participant

Rent.

Please take some time to read the quadrillion threads on the topic of buying in residency to thoroughly disabuse yourself of this being a good idea.

#200403 Reply
    ACN ACN 

Rent. End of discussion.

If you're ever having a bad day, just remember in 1976 Ronald Wayne sold his 10% stake in Apple for $2,300.

#200410 Reply
    CordMcNally CordMcNally 
    Participant

I do like how they all start off with an “interesting situation” or “unique situation”.

“But investing isn’t about beating others at their game. It’s about controlling yourself at your own game.”
    ― Benjamin Graham, The Intelligent Investor

Participant
    Does it make sense for him to buy and for me to rent?

Click to expand…

yea was the first thing this whole board thought…..

#200415 Reply
    Participant

Rent. End of discussion.

Click to expand…

Not necessarily, not enough information given. If housing prices are low enough compared to rent there is a reasonable argument to be made here to buy. Renting is likely better but need more info.

#200417 Reply
    ACN ACN 

Rent. End of discussion.