Menu

Taxable account

Home General Investing Taxable account

• Drop it into MD Drop it into MD 
    Participant
    Splash Refinancing Bonus

I am going to be starting up a taxable account and I was hoping to get some advise from the community.

I am an employed family physician in NY state.  I am 3 years out of residency.  I finished paying off my student loans and consumer debt last year. We saved for and are closing on a house soon with 20% down and a 15 year fixed @4.375 mortgage.  I am maxing all tax deferred accounts (403B, 457, and Rothx2).  I am contributing to 529 accounts to above the tax benefit amount and I do not feel I need to put any more here. Everything is in Vanguard index funds. I have 2-3K more a month I would like to invest now that we are done saving for our down payment.

We are selling our current house and with that windfall and my extra savings I feel it is time to start a taxable account.  I am currently at 100% equity.  I aim for 60%US stock, 30% international and 10% alternatives.  I would like to keep this ratio going forward.

So my question is when I open the taxable account should I make it domestic or international stock?  Does the tax efficiency of VTSAX outweigh the foreign credit?  I would like to tax loss harvest so I would like to use an unique fund.  I can move things around in my tax advantaged accounts if need be (instead of total stock market I can do the 500 index and the extended market)  I feel like I am making too big of a deal out of this but since I can go either way I figured it was worth seeing if there was a significant advantage.

#152133 Reply

total US is still more tax efficient than total INTL after accounting for the FTC. so take your pick. whatever you have worse access to in the 403 i would therefore put in taxable.

you technically only need to worry about your IRA re: wash sale.

#152137 Reply
    Participant