Menu

Starting M4 Year – Seeking Some Advice on Residency for Career Goals

Home General/Welcome Starting M4 Year – Seeking Some Advice on Residency for Career Goals

Participant

Greeting WCI community,

A little background: I graduated college with a degree in Economics, worked in business development (sales, account management, marketing) for a few years in the software industry, then decided to pursue medical school. I will graduate in May 2020 at age 35 as a bachelor with approximately $100,000 in overall debt (thank you mom and dad!).

My question is about what career path to choose for what I want in life. What sounds great to me now, is initially working 10-20% of my time doing inpatient medicine (med, peds, psych, whatever), and to spend 40-50% doing outpatient/private practice medicine, and the remaining time traveling and becoming an entrepreneur.

When I say entrepreneur, I mean I would be happy owning my own psychiatry practice and hiring other docs/NPs/PAs and spending several months a year abroad or traveling and keeping up with patients via telepsychiatry/telemedicine. OR, going into a primary care field and using capital from friends and family to start a clinic and hire NPs/PAs to see patients, have PTs/OTs for rehab, in-house pharmacy etc.

At the end of the day, what I really want is to have enough money and flexibility to live a nice life, travel alot, and take care of my parents and disabled sister. I want to shoot for the stars (become a multimillionaire, start foundations, etc.) but I would be happy with being wealthy enough to live a comfortable abundant life for me and my family.

So my questions please are: