Menu

Solo Roth 401k asset allocation at TD Ameritrade

Home Retirement Accounts Solo Roth 401k asset allocation at TD Ameritrade

Participant

So I just opened my solo roth 401k for 2018 for myself in my S corp LLC dental business where I am a contract dentist at a private office.  I funded it with $18,500 for 2018 as the employee portion in a lump sum. I am the only employee.  I will add an employer portion in the next couple months.  Now I need to know the best asset allocation for the long run as I am only 35 years old now.

When I went to them and asked for a low cost index fund for the total market they said there is a $49.99 trade fee each time.  Ouch!  There are 4000 mutual funds that are commission free, but when I went down the rabbit hole of narrowing the search I could not find any of the big hitters that I hear you guys and bogle heads talk about.  So what do I invest in?  I am looking for automatic investing to put money in every month or quarter and have it automatically invested (they said that’s impossible as I have to manually punch it in each time), lowest management fees possible, no or low commission fees, following the indexes (not actively managed), etc.

How do you all do it?

I thought all I needed was 65% VTSAX total market, 20% VTIAX international, and 15% VBTLX total bond (as a basic example).

I have heard of other ones like VOO s and p 500, VTI total market, and VTSMX Vanguard Total Market.

Even if I try the ETF route there is still a $6.95 trading fee each time per fund.  So I thought I may go that route and just contribute each quarter instead of each month.

Any thoughts?

Thank you!

#179629 Reply
    So I just opened my solo roth 401k for 2018 for myself in my S corp LLC dental business where I am a contract dentist at a private office.  I funded it with $18,500 for 2018 as the employee portion in a lump sum.

Click to expand…

Where is your 401k at? Did you open it yourself, or did someone help you?