Menu

Solo 401k vs. Sep IRA

Home Retirement Accounts Solo 401k vs. Sep IRA

Participant

I’m in my 4th year of residency and fortunate to have many moonlighting opportunities available that have allowed me to max our 403b, 457, and Roth IRA x2. We have been aggressive savers and trying to put everything possible into retirement while we’re so early in our career and in a lower tax bracket. My wife does some freelancing and receives 20-40k annually1099 money from 3-5 companies. We’ve met a lot of our savings goals this year and ready for the next one. We have two kids and will have another baby in the near future. She has told me she wants to scale back with each baby that we’ve had but she can’t help herself and just keeps grinding. I’d like to take advantage of this while we can and haven’t really been in a position to previously. My tentative plan is to create a sep IRA for her and max it out with however much we can and then at the end of residency concert all our pretax account (457, 401a, and now sep IRA) to Roth while we’re in the low tax bracket.

Solo 401k would probably be better but seems like more hassle to setup if we’re only going to use it for a year or two. I think once I’m an attending my wife will finally quit working but I don’t know for sure. If she’s was to keep working solo 401k would be the way to go so I don’t run into pro Rata rule with sep IRa each year. So I have to figure that out.

Any problems with this general plan? Any recommendations or advice?

#236361 Reply
    Participant

Assuming your wife does not do salary deferral in another plan, she could put much more of her freelancing income in a solo 401k.  For example, if she makes 25K in net income, she could contribute 19K in salary deferral plus 20% of the remaining 6K (less 1/2 SE taxes on the income).  In contrast, the SEP would allow only 20% of 25K net income (less 1/2 SE taxes).

#236367 Reply
    Liked by spiritrider
    Faithful Steward Faithful Steward 
    Participant