Menu
This forum is no longer active. Please use the new forum at https://www.whitecoatinvestor.com/forum/

Small Cap Tilt

Home General Investing Small Cap Tilt

Participant

Trying to come up with the ideal asset allocation. I’m a 4th year resident who will be starting practice in 11 months. I’m very risk tolerant and won’t sell low, I’m not worried at all about behavioral issues like that. I’d like to be aggressive as I can reasonably be for the first 10 years or so of my career. I’ve been considering the follow allocation and wanted to get some feedback. I’m currently 100% VTSAX for the last 6 years but my portfolio has grown enough it’s time to start expanding.

50% VTSAX

25% VTIAX

25% VSMAX

Is that too much tilt? I think my next step would be to add in REITs with 50 VTSAX, 25 VTIAX, 15 VSMAX and 10 REITS.

#238113 Reply
    CordMcNally CordMcNally
    Participant

There’s a lot of incredibly risk tolerant newer investors, mainly because of the last 10-11 years. To answer your question about how much tilt is too much, what does your personal investment policy statement say? 25% is too much for me but may not be for you. I think your asset allocation with REITs is reasonable. It isn’t what some people here would do but I certainly can’t make a great argument against it.

“But investing isn’t about beating others at their game. It’s about controlling yourself at your own game.”
    ― Benjamin Graham, The Intelligent Investor

#238121 Reply
    Participant

“Is that too much tilt? I think my next step would be …”
    Not sure why you are changing from VTSAX.
    The first step in portfolio design is stock/bond allocation to primarily adjust risk.

Constantly evolving portfolio design is a “bad habit”. Nothing wrong with changing a portfolio design WHEN you risk profile changes. What are changing for?
    Equity is equity, you already have Intl, Small Caps and REITs in VTSAX. What benefit is it? Higher returns vs higher/lower volatility?