Menu

SEP IRA vs. 401k at a non-profit

Home Retirement Accounts SEP IRA vs. 401k at a non-profit

Participant

I worked as a senior chemist in the pharmaceutical industry for nearly seven years and enjoyed a generous 401k program with 6% match. Two years ago I left and started working as a scientist at a non-profit which was a very positive move for me resulting in better work life balance! I now have a SEP IRA where at the beginning of every calendar year our board votes to put 10% of our salary into the fund.

Our organization has 22 employees and our executive director is hesitant to do something other than the SEP because of fees. I am super grateful for the 10%, but miss being able to contribute more. I am maxing out my Roth IRA every year. Curious if anyone in this group is in a similar situation and if so how do you handle it?

I have been looking into some low fee 401k programs such as For Us All and Guideline.  My executive director has stated that this is a very low priority for him, but I want to do all my research before I try to present some alternatives to the SEP IRA.  I think in the long run it could benefit all of the people I work with.  Thanks!

#235115 Reply
    DMFA DMFA 
    I have been looking into some low fee 401k programs such as For Us All and Guideline.  My executive director has stated that this is a very low priority for him, but I want to do all my research before I try to present some alternatives to the SEP IRA.  I think in the long run it could benefit all of the people I work with.  Thanks!

Click to expand…

Guideline.com has a cheap and easy safe-harbor plan.

What is the “cost” of it, other than having to make high contributions for each employee?  SEPs are supposed to be pretty cheap and easy, as well, other than having to give the same percentage to all employees.

"I like money." - Frito Pendejo (Idiocracy)

[Not a financial professional (yet), lawyer, or employee of The White Coat Investor]

#235124 Reply