Menu

Roth Overcontribution?

Home Beginners Helping Beginners Roth Overcontribution?

Participant

Hi all, long time lurker but first time poster here.

I think I found the answer to my question through old posts, but since I’m still pretty new to this stuff, I wanted to double check that I’m not misunderstanding things before I go ahead and do this:

Briefly: I finished residency in 2018 and ended up earning more in my first few months as an attending than expected, so am not eligible to contribute directly to a Roth. Unfortunately, I already put $5500 in there in early 2018. As we’re still well before April 15, 2019, my understanding is that I can call up Vanguard, and tell them I’d like my 2018 Roth contribution recharacterized as a traditional IRA, let them do that, and then once that’s settled, convert all of it back to a Roth in a back-door Roth style. Is this about right/am I missing anything crucial to think about?

Related to that – does it affect things at all that when I realized this, I happened to be in the middle of doing my first back door Roth contribution for 2019 – so I have $6000 sitting in a traditional IRA right now at Vanguard waiting to be converted to a Roth – does this affect things at all? Or just recharacterize my 2018 Roth as a traditional IRA contribution, then convert the whole thing ($11500)?

Finally, are there any special tax forms I’d need to do related to this? I was planning to do my taxes on my own via Turbotax/H&R block or something similar, unless this is something where others would advise having a CPA/EA directly involved in helping with tax prep?

Thanks in advance to all!

#186901 Reply
    jfoxcpacfp jfoxcpacfp 
    Status: Financial Advisor, Accountant, Small Business Owner

Welcome to the forum!