Menu
This forum is no longer active. Please use the new forum at https://www.whitecoatinvestor.com/forum/

Retirement and matched contribution from employer

Home Retirement Accounts Retirement and matched contribution from employer

Participant

Hello,

I am new to the WCI website/forum and its been an eye opener of how ignorant I am with financials. I am starting to read more and trying to get financially literate for my husband and 2 children.

As I was learning, we should be saving 20% of each paycheck for retirement, I recently increased my contributions from 6% to 20%. Apparently my employer will match up to 6% of my salary (224K). Per my paycheck I am YTD 7700 in 401K. I was told by a friend that I should not increase it 20%  as if I max out the total of 401K  which is 19K for 2019 then I will not get the employer match …is that true? what I was explained is once i hit $9500 YTD of 401K I no longer will have to continue to contribute as my employer would match the 9500

If so,  can I continue to separate the 20% and what other retirement accounts should I be contributing to it ?  or should I use the 20% of the rest of the year to be attributed to by student loan (360K for which I am currently paying about 4300 with goal of paying it 10 years)

I appreciate any guidance.

#234833 Reply
    SerrateAndDominate SerrateAndDominate 
    Participant

Buy your friend a book or three.

Max out employee contribution

Earn everything.

#234895 Reply
    Participant

your friend is wrong.  Max it out (full 19000 this year).  The employer match is allowed up to a different limit.  You may want to ask your employer though if they only match per paycheck or if they “true up” at the end of the year.  What I mean is that some places will only match for each paycheck that you contribute into the 401k, so if you max out the 19000 of YOUR contributions before the end of the year, you miss out on the employer match for the rest of that year.

#234903 Reply
    Participant