Menu

Retirement account order

Home Retirement Accounts Retirement account order

Participant

I’m starting my first job in August and our goal is to save 30% of gross towards retirement. That should be around $28k for this year. I just need help to make sure we’re putting it in the right accounts/flow buckets.
    For this year I’m thinking:
    $19k to employer fund.
    $4500 to Roth IRA
    $4500 to spousal Roth IRA

For first full year with approx $70k towards retirement:
    $19k to employer fund
    $6000 to Backdoor Roth
    $6000 to spousal backdoor Roth
    $39k to taxable account

I can’t do HSA and my wife makes a minimal amount through 1099 earnings if that matters. I’m new to all this although am trying to learn. Is my thinking off or am I on the right track?

#220803 Reply
    CordMcNally CordMcNally 
    Participant

I would really try to max out the Roths this year. I know you’ll just have 5 months of attendinghood and potentially only 4 months of attending paychecks (depending on how you’re paid) but you should be able to do it. I assume a 401k is your only offered retirement plan through your employer?

“But investing isn’t about beating others at their game. It’s about controlling yourself at your own game.”
    ― Benjamin Graham, The Intelligent Investor

#220807 Reply
    Liked by Anne
    Participant

Agreed with Cord about maxing roth. Remember you can do backdoor roth until April 15 of the following year.

#220811 Reply
    Liked by Anne
    ENT Doc ENT Doc 
    Participant

Max your wife’s i401k. Deduct all that is legal for her business. 529s?

#220815 Reply
    Participant

I forgot about the tax date. I’ll definitely try to max it out. I also need to get our emergency fund started and want to throw as much as I can at savings before my loan payment jumps up.

#220816 Reply
    Participant
    I assume a 401k is your only offered retirement plan through your employer?

Click to expand…

No other plans offered unfortunately.