Menu

Resident to Attending, What do I do with Roth IRA from Residency

Home Retirement Accounts Resident to Attending, What do I do with Roth IRA from Residency

Participant

Hello, I graduated Residency June 2019, started my Attending position August 2019.  I have a Roth IRA which I started during Residency with approx $16,300 in value.   My question is what do I now do with this account (through fidelity).  I have been hearing of the backdoor roth, but specifically what would I do with my prior Roth IRA account.  Any help is appreciated.

#243256 Reply
    Participant

Keep it and congratulate yourself on funding it during residency.

Backdoor Roth is for future contributions (once you are above income limit for direct Roth contributions).  The mechanics of that have been described multiple places on this website but basics are you open a Traditional IRA, fund it with $6000, then convert it to Roth.

Good luck!

#243268 Reply
    Liked by Hank

nothing.

#243269 Reply
    jfoxcpacfp jfoxcpacfp 
    Status: Financial Advisor, Accountant, Small Business Owner

Good work! As long as you are not planning to take distributions from your Roth in the next 5 years, just use it for step 2 of your upcoming backdoor Roth’s (the conversion).

Welcome to the forum!

Johanna Fox Turner, CPA, CFP, Fox Wealth Mgmt & Fox CPAs ~
    http://www.fox-cpas.com/for-doctors-only ~ [email protected]

#243277 Reply
    Liked by spiritrider
    Participant

Your Roth IRA is an INDIVIDUAL retirement account and therefore is attached to YOU, not your residency. So you just keep it around, make sure it’s allocated according to your plan, and start to utilize a Backdoor Roth by contributing non-deductible funds to a Traditional IRA and then converting it into your already-made Roth IRA. Read through wci’s instructions on how to do this.

Good luck!

#243542 Reply
    Faithful Steward Faithful Steward 
    Participant