Menu

Resident to Attending Transition: Retirement Account from Residency

Home Personal Finance and Budgeting Resident to Attending Transition: Retirement Account from Residency

Participant

Hi guys, I am currently a medical resident, and I recently started to read up about finance. I have been reading this forum and found it very helpful, so finally decided to make an account and join the community!

I will be graduating from residency this upcoming June. I will then start my first job as an attending in August. Here is a brief summary about myself so I can get appropriate feedback: 31yo, married, no kids yet, no student loans (so grateful for my parents), and as mentioned above, will be transitioning from residency to attending this year. I currently have a 401a DCP account from residency that has about $18k in it. When I start my new job, I plan to move all this money to my Roth IRA at Vanguard. My understanding is that whether this makes sense or not depends on whether I am in a higher or lower tax bracket this year vs when I retire. It is a bit hard to predict but I believe I will be in a lower bracket this year, so I plan to proceed (anyone have any more insight on this?).