Menu

Physician contract review

Home Beginners Helping Beginners Physician contract review

Participant

I am posting to get a sense if the amount I have been billed for my physician contract review is reasonable.

I am an orthopedic surgeon finishing a spine fellowship and took a private practice job. I will be joining a division that is part of a > 80 provider group. The division helped get me a sign on bonus from one of the local hospital. I was giving three contracts and a letter of intent – a contract for the group, a contract for the division, a letter of intent from the division, and a contract from the hospital.

I hired an attorney to review the contracts. After a cursory review, she quoted me $1000 for a straight forward contract review but could be $2000 if a lot of revisions needed to be made. I paid a $1000 retainer.

There was a lot of back and forth between my lawyer, my groups lawyer, and the hospital lawyers. Some of the attachments and figures were either missing or mislabeled but ultimately, there wasn’t any substancial changes to the terms of the contracts.

I got my final bill which is over $6000. I want to get a sense if others have been in a similar situation and if this amount is reasonable.

#206229 Reply
    jfoxcpacfp jfoxcpacfp 
    Status: Financial Advisor, Accountant, Small Business Owner

Was her quote possibly per contract?

Johanna Fox Turner, CPA, CFP, Fox Wealth Mgmt & Fox CPAs ~ 270-247-0555
    https://fox-cpas.com/for-doctors-only/

#206236 Reply
    Participant

No it was for all the contracts.

#206238 Reply
    jfoxcpacfp jfoxcpacfp