Menu

Paying for daughter’s medical school education????

Home Student Loan Management Paying for daughter’s medical school education????

Participant
    Splash Refinancing Bonus

I am a physician and my daughter will be starting medical school soon. It has always been my intention to pay for her medical school education. In light of the public student loan forgiveness program, it seems to me that a better option would be for her to take out loans and see how things work out. I can always help her with the outstanding loan balance if she does not end up getting her loans forgiven. Am I wrong? If anyone has a different opinion, I would like to hear your reasons why.

Thanks in advance

#219665 Reply
    hatton1 hatton1 
    Participant

You could certainly help her borrow less by paying her living expenses.

#219699 Reply
    Participant

Whatever you decide, I’d make the decision around match day. By then she will know her specialty and can start understand what sort of income she can anticipate and how difficult getting a PSLF eligible job will be.

Those loans can really explode during residency if you don’t handle them well :/

#219702 Reply
    fatlittlepig fatlittlepig 
    Participant

i think the kid should take out some debt for grad school. gotta have some skin in the game, builds character and responsiblity. daddy paying for college + med school is kind of lame. just my opinion

FLP

I’ll be the voice of reason:
    Help her with tuition!
    That is all.

q-school q-school 
    Participant

i would just thank god she was smart enough to get in to medical school and for providing the ability to help jumpstart her financial life.

whether you pay some or all, i think the die has already been cast regarding her financial tendencies.  if she has shown imprudence, let her take loans.  if she has shown good judgement, trust her to continue to do so.  i’m not saying buy her a ferrari, just let her have loans.

best of luck!  i hope my kids grow up like yours.