Menu

Optimal investments for taxable account

Home General Investing Optimal investments for taxable account

Participant

I am starting a taxable account and planning to manage it myself. I have a financial advisor whom I trust who manages our tax-deferred retirement accounts, but I want to start taking back our investments over the next 5 years. As a resident, I managed all our investments and did our taxes, but stuff got out of hand when we started in two different private practices and invested in multiple real estate properties, so I called in some help with a CPA and a financial advisor about 3 years ago.  I had a taxable account a few years ago but gifted it to our DAF since they were all old investments with huge gains. I currently manage our HSA and my kids 529 accounts myself. Starting a taxable account seems like a bigger undertaking with multiple potential pitfalls.

I want to get the groups recommendations about what is the best thing to put in a taxable account. I want it to be low maintenance without a lot of rebalancing-yearly? I am tolerant of aggressive investments so was planning on 100% stocks, likely growth as I want to avoid dividends. We are in the highest tax bracket, both surgeons, (fairly) youngish, and currently put over $150K/year in tax-deferred accounts plus invest a similar amount yearly in real estate.  I know enough to avoid loaded, actively managed funds.

Do I buy US total stocks vs international vs load up on Berkshire Hathaway and call it good? Appreciate recommendations for a simple allocation.

SEJ

#246305 Reply

Total us. Total intl. Munis.
    That’s it.

CordMcNally CordMcNally 
    Participant

What’s your goal asset allocation? There’s nothing special about investing in a taxable account. You could probably spend a week of reading and be ready to take back your tax-deferred accounts now instead of in 5 years.

“But investing isn’t about beating others at their game. It’s about controlling yourself at your own game.”