Menu

med student car dilemma

Home Personal Finance and Budgeting med student car dilemma

Participant

Hi,

I’m a third year student in the middle of rotations. My car has a check engine light that requires a repair of $2,500. I have an older car that is probably not worth more than that (’05 corolla). My state automatically fails inspection for cars with CEL. I was originally planning on getting a used car in my first or second year of residency.

I don’t think the car is worth putting in this work. I have already spent $2,600 in repairs in the last year. It’s a bit of a downer but it’s probably time to move on to a different car. At this point I’m considering a few options.

1. Lease a car for two years until I can buy a used car. I don’t know much about leasing cars however have read that leasing cars can make sense for people driving it less than three years.

2. Buy a used car this year. I see some used Honda and Toyota cars in the $8-9,000 range that appear to be good options. I have enough cash (~$13,000) to pay for this right now before the next loan cycle distribution. I would rather pay cash for a car. Any other good used car options? I have been looking at cars.com.

3. My mom has offered to buy a used car for herself and let me borrow her current car for two years. My mom wasn’t planning on buying a car this year but was thinking of getting one in a couple years. She would sell it used afterwards. This is an okay option but I also dislike relying on my parents so much.

I’m a bit stuck with making this decision. Any WCI input?

#156356 Reply

1- are you sure? has it been checked by a few mechanics? is it not just a simple new gas cap?

2- i think buying a used beater is the way to go if you need a new car. however again, going back to #1, are you sure the repairs are necessary and actual? and 2500 is still less than 10K you are planning on spending….

while youre a med student is the perfect time to rely on your parents.

#156424 Reply
    Participant