Menu

Low Savings rate with high WAR

Home General/Welcome Low Savings rate with high WAR

Participant

Hi all,

I am an orthopedic surgeon 4 years into private practice.  Salary keeps going up, currently I am maxing out my profit sharing 401k, funding an HSA and backdoor Roth IRA’s for myself and my wife.  After the retirement accounts are filled I have been throwing the rest at debt.  My savings rate last year was a paltry 7.8%, but my WAR was 41%. Last year we paid down 240k of principle.  A vast majority of my debt is the buy in to my practice (1.1 mil paid down to 790k on a year loan at 5%).  Student loans at 136k down from a start of ~300k.  Our goal is to be debt free except our mortgage by December 2023.  Should I slow down on the debt and put more into taxable accounts.  Current net worth is 620k, with 225k spread across our retirement accounts.

Should I be concerned about such a low savings rate since we are aggressively paying down our debt?  Stay the course or balance the savings rate and WAR out a bit?

WiscDoc

#228414 Reply
    Participant

WAR?

#228415 Reply
    Participant
    #228421 Reply
    Splash Refinancing Bonus

20% to retirement.
    Rest to loans,. Then taxable.
    Ignore the war par fubar stuff.

#228428 Reply
    CordMcNally CordMcNally 
    Participant

I thought you were going to be a baseball player with a high wins above replacement stat.

“But investing isn’t about beating others at their game. It’s about controlling yourself at your own game.”
    ― Benjamin Graham, The Intelligent Investor

Participant

That would also help my retirement accounts.

WiscDoc

#228444 Reply
    Liked by Zaphod
    Participant

Ultimately it won’t matter as long as your income is so high and spending controlled. So what you prefer.