Menu

Loans and Locums, graduating in 2 mos

Home General/Welcome Loans and Locums, graduating in 2 mos

Participant

Hi All, looking for some general advice as I prepare to get my feet wet in this financial planning stuff. I’ll graduate from a Pennsylvania IM residency in <2 months with plan to do multi-state locums hospitalist work for the next year with the intent of finding an IM practice (completely unsure if private or non-profit) to join near family in Arizona, Nevada, or California. I plan to travel quite a bit globally and stay with friends/family when I’m not on a work assignment (no rent or mortgage) this year. I am single, have $390k (thanks DO school) in consolidated federal student debt with interest rates from 4.75 to 7.65% and have been on PAYE throughout residency, submitting paperwork annually for PSLF. I bought a house when I started training which I plan to sell (will make only $15-$20k off the sale) after boards in August. Otherwise no debt (though my mom is partially financially dependent on me, I give her maybe 20 k/year) and no savings. Given my uncertainty about my future practice, does it make sense to delay the refinance vs PSLF decision for a year while earning locums pay? Will the refinancing rates I am offered differ substantially if I apply before vs. after selling my house? When do I need to contact my federal loan servicer and let them know I’m now making lots more money than I used to (I don’t have to re-certify my loan repayment plan until January)? I think I had some retirement program that my employer contributed to during residency; is that something I need to cash out or otherwise do something with? Would also really appreciate referral to someone (?financial advisor ?accountant) who could complete my taxes in 3 states and tell me how to manage my finances as an independent contractor in locums. Does anyone do that on their own?

#215457 Reply
    Participant