Menu

Loan repayment at a non-profit

Home Student Loan Management Loan repayment at a non-profit

Participant
    Disability Insurance

Hi All,

First off, thanks for everyone that contributes. I read a ton of the posts on here. So I’m a dentist in a rural area on the west coast. I’m saddled with 215,000 in federal loans. Their interest range between 5.06-5.96%. I’m making a little over 100k in guaranteed salary (plus possible bonuses that I have yet to hit due to patient no shows). In the mean time, I’m moonlighting for an extra 20k after tax. I got accepted to my state’s loan repayment and they gave me 91k in tax free money that will be disbursed quarterly for 3 years (it’s around 7500 a quarter). I’m currently on IBR. I could sign up for PAYE or REPAYE but don’t know what to do. I was also thinking about refinancing some of the loans (refinance the higher interest ones, get the bonus, pay them off). I’m currently maxing out a 403B (option to do roth 403b, but thought pre-tax would be better), and maxing out an IRA/Roth conversion. I’m in a high state income tax state if that effects the decision.  I’m currently making payments in the range of 1300 a month (I’m required to make 0 due to a low 2018 income) on the highest interest loans. I’d like to make the most mathematically correct decision possible. I don’t want to do PSLF as I’d like to be debt free in 5-6 years. Unmarried now but will be married this year or next.

Any ideas on what I should do?

#195182 Reply
    Faithful Steward Faithful Steward 
    Participant

If you are not going for PSLF, then you need to look into refinancing. However, you also need to make sure that your state’s loan repayment plan will still cover the loans if you refinance, before you pull the trigger on refinancing.

Michael Peterson, CFP® | Faithful Steward Wealth Advisors
    http://www.fswealthadvisors.com | (717) 496-0900

#195511 Reply
    Liked by SLC OB
    Participant