Menu

Keeping the backdoor open – how do I empty out an rollover IRA as a resident?

Home Retirement Accounts Keeping the backdoor open – how do I empty out an rollover IRA as a resident?

Participant

Finishing up my financial bootcamp, and trying to “fix mistakes” right now…

My husband has retirement accounts from his prior employers that we are trying to straighten out/make better investments. We put the funds into an rollover IRA with the plan to convert to his Roth IRA for 2019. There will be a few thousand dollars leftover — but we need to find somewhere else to invest it to avoid the pro rata rule. In reading the Backdoor Roth IRA Ultimate Guide and Tutorial, the best answer seems to be to open a solo 401(k). But he’s a grad student and I’m a resident so we don’t have a company and we can’t do this… unless I’m missing something? Can I do this?

Thanks in advance for the help, and like the other new users, sorry if this is a super naive question! I tried to read a bunch of forum threads to find the answer, but most people seem to have another non-IRA account available through a spouse, etc. that was a better answer for them.

#196881 Reply
    jfoxcpacfp jfoxcpacfp 
    Status: Financial Advisor, Accountant, Small Business Owner

No need to apologize and welcome to the forum!

When does your husband expect to start working? Four options are:

• Contribute to TIRA this year and wait until next year to convert to a Roth (assuming he’ll be able to participate in a plan that accepts rollovers before 12/31/20)
    • Keep funds in the TIRA in cash for a couple of years until the above is true.
    • Pay the pro-rata tax for a few years while you’re in a low tax bracket. Not that big a deal – you’re just prepaying taxes that you’ll eventually pay at higher rates.
    • And, probably my favorite is to convert those old accounts to Roth IRAs while you’re both in a low tax bracket. You’ll probably never be this low again.