Menu

Joint Venture

Home Tax Reduction Joint Venture

• The White Coat Investor The White Coat Investor 
    Keymaster

Anonymous Post:

I’m a full-time physician with a W-2 job and a telemedicine side gig. Between my w2 401k and solok I am able to max out my 56k contribution for 2019. My spouse is not currently working and we are looking to have a qualified joint venture solok, increase retirement savings so as to lower taxable income. The main issue is defining spouse’s job description/duties to qualify as a joint venture for telemedicine gig.spouse is a physician but not currently practicing.Does anyone have any experience with this sorta situation ? What duties can be delegated legally to meet QJV requirements.Any help will be appreciated

Site/Forum Owner, Emergency Physician, Blogger, and author of The White Coat Investor: A Doctor's Guide to Personal Finance and Investing
    Helping Those Who Wear The White Coat Get A "Fair Shake" on Wall Street since 2011

#227879 Reply
    CordMcNally CordMcNally 
    Participant

The bottom line is that you’re basically trying to “invent” a job for your wife to shelter more of your money. That’s going to be tough. At this point, what does your telemedicine gig consist of? You sign in and start seeing people? I think it’d be tough to justify a joint venture in that scenario. I’m also not an accountant so I could very well be overlooking something.

“But investing isn’t about beating others at their game. It’s about controlling yourself at your own game.”
    ― Benjamin Graham, The Intelligent Investor

#227884 Reply
    Participant

Didn’t someone ask this already?

#227890 Reply
    Lordosis Lordosis 
    Participant

Tech support?

Secretary?

Would’t she need to pay FICA negating the usefulness of this?

“Never let your sense of morals prevent you from doing what is right.”

#227893 Reply
    Participant