Menu

Investment questions for a resident

Home General Investing Investment questions for a resident

Participant

I have no idea what I am doing half the time. I read a ton of blogs, participate in a bunch of forums but still cannot guide my way through the financial journey. I am a second year dental resident, buying a practice once I am doing for around 800k, current doc is collecting around 400k take home with a  1.3million dental collections average yearly. 130k in student debt at 5.8% interest.

I have 20k in the bank for savings

Residency stipend is 50k, we pay 10% to church tithing/donation monthly

3kids and wife

Wife has an IRA of 12k (from previous job we are just letting sit)

Not sure where to go or what to do next (hire a financial advisor? Invest? etc)

-My current plan is to move my savings account to a online bank that has a APY of at least 2% or more (Ally, VMXX, Marcus by GS) – Any thoughts?

-Not open a vanguard or roth at this time (people are saying that the government controls that and at any time they may increase the tax, age to pull out money etc) so sounds unreliable

-Open a wealthfront account and robo advise with 100-200$ monthly.

Anything else one would suggest? We are looking at buying a house a year after working in the practice after residency (so two years from now)

I am a newbie and need all the help I can get.

#225519 Reply
    Participant

Open a Roth and max it out asap. Vanguard isn’t a type of account. It’s a company, through which you can have numerous different types of accounts.

Wealth front is last thing you should be doing. You probably have access to a 401k or 403b or an hsa. Do those.

If you’re going to add 800k debt to 130k I wouldn’t be in any hurry to buy a house.

Your wife is staying at home I’m assuming?

#225528 Reply
    Participant