Menu

Investing during retirement

Home General Investing Investing during retirement

Participant

My mother recently retired at age 65. She has no debts and hasn’t needed to dip into savings. She uses a small amount of social security for everyday items.

She has about $500 a month left over she is looking to use for investing. Can you invest in tax deferred accounts after retirements? Should she just invest in index funds and bonds?

Trying to help her out but I am new to this myself.

#170790 Reply
    Participant

Need to have earned income for IRA/Roth. Nothing wrong with saving in a taxable brokerage account. A simple two fund portfolio with a total stock market fund and total bond market fund with a anywhere from a 60/40 to 40/60 allocation depending on desire for risk/return and goals for the investment.

#170795 Reply
    Participant

50/50 in vanguard taxable account, total stock and total bond

Roth IRA would be nice for grandkids to inherit, if she doesn’t end up using it. (edit: if there is earned income)

#170801 Reply
    Participant

Danger warning. Please get her to consider her risk tolerance. What would she do with a stock market index account if the market crashed 50%? If she would panic and sell, then do not dump a lot of her money into stocks. She will just lose a bunch of money and blame you. (OK, yes, some personal experience leaking through here.)

I’d consider laddered CDs or bonds, perhaps inflation protected, although a total stock market bond fund is fine too. Then I’d start her dollar cost averaging into a total stock market index fund for long term growth and an inflation hedge.

On the other hand, if she will sit tight during bear markets then I’m with Bmac and G.

#170856 Reply
    jfoxcpacfp jfoxcpacfp 
    Status: Financial Advisor, Accountant, Small Business Owner