Menu

Intern: Clarifying savings and financial plan

Home Personal Finance and Budgeting Intern: Clarifying savings and financial plan

Participant

Hi there I’m an intern and am currently saving 50% of my income in a low budget city. I have 25,000 saved in a high yield SA and max my RIRA. I don’t get a 401k match and the options are all pretty terrible (high fee ratios, active funds). I would like to invest in Vanguard but the minimums are 3000k each. How does one build  a balanced portfolio if it takes me a whole year just to buy the minimum of a 20/80 bond/stock split using their index funds? My portfolio would be grossly out of proportion (just having 3000k in Total stock market and 3000k in total bond) as i incrementally try to add money to each fund and try to re-balance it over the next few years. I especially am risk-adverse since I dont make a lot and am planning on going for PSLF later. Thanks! Should I be doing something else entirely with my savings?

#239549 Reply
    ACN ACN 

You don’t need a balanced portfolio right now; put everything in stocks.  You can also invest in VTI (ETF vs the mutual fund), which is $1k min or a target retirement fund until you have $3k then convert it to Total Stock.

If you're ever having a bad day, just remember in 1976 Ronald Wayne sold his 10% stake in Apple for $2,300.

#239568 Reply
    Liked by wonka31
    CordMcNally CordMcNally 
    Participant

A few options:

1.) Use your $25k to get you over the $3k hump. If you save 50% of your income, $25k is at least a year’s worth of expenses.

2.) Use ETFs.

Your asset allocation being “out of whack” is largely irrelevant when your portfolio is small. What specialty are you in and how much do you owe in student loans?

“But investing isn’t about beating others at their game. It’s about controlling yourself at your own game.”
    ― Benjamin Graham, The Intelligent Investor

#239570 Reply
    Participant

I would actually recommend you give yourself permission to spend more