Menu
This forum is no longer active. Please use the new forum at https://www.whitecoatinvestor.com/forum/

I dont understand 401k employee contribution limits

Home Retirement Accounts I dont understand 401k employee contribution limits

Participant
    Splash Refinancing Bonus

so my wife has a 401k through her hospital.  we have “maxed” out every year as per employee contribution limitations.  however, i have been reading everywhere that the limit for 401k’s is 55k.  IE: https://www.whitecoatinvestor.com/multiple-401k-rules/#comment-512538 i read this last week and i have been picking my brain as rule #1 and rule #2 are literally contradictory.  i dont understand how you can have a max employee contribution of 16k, and turn right around in the next part and say just make it 55k.  can you add after tax dollars to the 401k?  im very new to this and this makes ZERO sense to me.  can some one please lift the fog for me?

#180216 Reply

there are two parts. employee and employer.

its 56 total.

they have their own set of rules.

if she is W2 then you are limited to whatever your employer will match or if the program allows after tax contributions with in service distributions.

#180218 Reply
    Participant

i understand the two parts: of employee and employer.  what i dont understand is if the max is 55k, what does the max of 18.5k actually mean?

Rule # 1 One Employee Contribution Total

The IRS only allows you to make a total of $18,500 ($24,500 if 50 or over) worth of “employee contributions” to all of your 401(k)s (or 403(b)s) no matter how many unrelated employers you have. If you have access to two 401(k)s, you can split this up, but the total must be $18.5K ($24.5K if over 50) or less.

and then the very next things is:

Rule # 2 $55K Per Unrelated Employer