Menu

Hybrid real estate brokerage vs traditional broker

Home Mortgages and Home Buying Hybrid real estate brokerage vs traditional broker

Participant

Hi all, I’m a 4th year medical student on my second career. We have a rental property with significant equity and our tenant is moving out this month due to a military deployment. We’re strongly considering selling the property and using the proceeds to eliminate my student loans and supplement our savings/investments during residency.

Does anyone have any experience selling a home with one of the hybrid real estate brokerages (ie, Redfin) or another fixed fee broker as opposed to a traditional broker? On the other hand, does anyone feel strongly about using a traditional broker? I’m already going to be paying a significant amount of taxes on the sale and would like to minimize the amount I pay for brokerage services.

Thanks in advance!

#189550 Reply
    White.Beard.Doc White.Beard.Doc 
    Participant

The answer to this questions depends on several things.

How good are you at marketing your own property?  Do you have time to show it?  Do you have great photography skills to create a top quality listing?  Do you have the market knowledge to list at the right price?

What is the market like in your area?  Some areas do better when you use a traditional broker, some are fine using one of the discount services.  Is the market where you are hot or cold?

You can always interview 2 or 3 traditional brokers for free to see their presentation of a comparative market analysis, to consider their services, to learn about marketing in your market, ask the tough questions regarding the strengths and weaknesses of your property, what you will get for your money through them, and you can also interview the discount brokers to hear their sales spiel.  Ask both types of agents why you should use them over the other type, ask them for referrals from recent customers, do your due diligence.