Menu

HSA Question

Home General Investing HSA Question

•  orthodoc2018 
    Participant

So I’m new to the HSA arena.  I had thought this would be my only way to get my pre-tax retirement savings underway since I don’t have access to a 401k at this time (employer’s rules) but now I’m reading more and thinking maybe I can’t even get pre-tax money into my HSA.  My employer health coverage policy is an “HSA-eligible” plan but my employer does not have a “section 125 plan”.  Am I still able to make pre-tax contributions to an HSA individually?  Either through HSA Bank or Lively?  If not, would it even be worth it to contribute to an HSA?  Post-tax money that yes grows tax free but then is taxed (again?) if not used for medical expenses?

#170093 Reply
     jz 
    Participant

Your HSA account may be independent of your employer.  Many choices for pretax contributions.

#170097 Reply
     blitz 
    Participant

Lively used to be the HSA administrator of choice, but if you’re planning on just investing the HSA, most Bogleheads would now suggest Fidelity.

#170100 Reply
     orthodoc2018 
    Participant

Nice thanks – I already have my and my wife’s Roth IRAs at Fidelity so that’s definitely easier.  I imagine it saves the $2.50/month fee to invest that Lively has.

Where my confusion was coming from was that the Lively rep made it sound like if not done through an employer, the HSA contributions would be post-tax no matter what but what I took away from that was that I couldn’t even deduct the contributions on my taxes which is clearly not the case.

If my wife and I are on one family health insurance plan together, I assume we are limited to the one HSA between the two of us (does it have to be the primary on the account?) at a maximum contribution of $6,900 correct?  Then, if the HSA is in my name but the medical expense is for my wife, how does that work?

Thank you all!

#170102 Reply
     G 
    Participant