Menu

HSA advice needed

Home General/Welcome HSA advice needed

Participant
    Earnest refinancing bonus

I am just starting out getting my financial life in order. Want to first start investing with my HSA money since for now I am not ready (knowledgeable enough) to fire my financial adviser. I have had and HSA account with HSA bank for a long time but never used it for investing. It seems that some of you are switching to Fidelity. What is the main reason you’re switching? Can I transfer funds I just deposited last month into my HSAbank account if I open a Fidelity HSA or do I need to wait until I make the next HSA contribution next year? ( I maxed out for this year already)

#189528 Reply
    Lithium Lithium 
    Participant

I am just starting out getting my financial life in order. Want to first start investing with my HSA money since for now I am not ready (knowledgeable enough) to fire my financial adviser. I have had and HSA account with HSA bank for a long time but never used it for investing. It seems that some of you are switching to Fidelity. What is the main reason you’re switching? Can I transfer funds I just deposited last month into my HSAbank account if I open a Fidelity HSA or do I need to wait until I make the next HSA contribution next year? ( I maxed out for this year already)

Click to expand…

Fidelity doesn’t charge fees.  Lively is the other no-fee option.  If you know you don’t want to stay with HSA Bank (and I wouldn’t), there is no reason to delay switching.

#189596 Reply
    Participant

Agree with Lithium.  And, yeah, you should invest the HSA money.  I have mine in a total stock market index, but I am saving my HSA and instead cashflowing medical expenses while I can.

#189601 Reply
    ENT Doc ENT Doc 
    Participant

Switch. Fidelity doesn’t mandate a minimum in a savings account so you can invest all of it. Access to good funds at no fees.

Have your current trustee transfer the amount directly.

#189610 Reply
    Participant