Menu

How much should salary factor into job decision when you have a lot in loans ?

Home General/Welcome How much should salary factor into job decision when you have a lot in loans ?

Participant

I am in my last year of residency in a procedure based specialty and deciding between two job offers. One offer stands out but what gives me pause is the missed financial opportunity of the job that pays more. I have not made great financial decisions thus far due to my own ignorance – 275k student loans (but no other debt), no investments, small retirement account, small savings. I’ve only made 30 “qualifying” PSLF payments despite 5 years of repayment. I am unmarried, no kids but would like to consider these in the next 5 years.

Job A: MCOL, much better location, stimulating environment with motivated colleagues, anticipate great job growth potential. Less call but long days.

Salary: $300k (< 25% MGMA), 8% employer contribution, PSLF qualified, can bonus but anticipate no more than 30k yearly

Would be very happy with job, satisfied with salary.

Job B: LCOL, less desirable location, great colleagues, anticipate good patient volume but less stimulating environment

Salary: $425k (50-75% MGMA), 3% employer contribution, PSLF qualified, can get retention-incentivized bonuses of another > $150k (commit > 4 years, but not sure I can)

Would be satisfied with job, very happy with salary.