Menu

hospitalist hours

Home The Lounge hospitalist hours

Participant

this is a question for all the hospitalists in the group…

the usual shifts for hospitalist are 12 hrs 7 on/7off … how many of you actually stay in the hospital for the entire 12 hrs. is it more common to stay or do most of you get to leave after rounding and some admits.. if you do leave early, then how early.. ?

#214350 Reply
    fatlittlepig fatlittlepig 
    Participant

I can’t imagine having to stay in hospital 12 hrs for 7 days in a row.

#214358 Reply
    Participant

that is what i keep trying to tel my group…but for some reason, they cant seem to agree ….

#214376 Reply
    fatlittlepig fatlittlepig 
    Participant
    Splash Refinancing Bonus

So basically for 7 days in a row you have no life, don’t see your family, and live in the hospital. I would change jobs.

#214387 Reply
    Lordosis Lordosis 
    Participant

When I was a resident I remember seeing a hospialist who looked particularly Haggard so I asked him if he was on the end of a long stretch.
    “Nah. If I look to happy they give me more patients”

Good times.

“Never let your sense of morals prevent you from doing what is right.”

Participant

I’m a hospitalist at in an academic setting. I love it.

I get in 8am, done seeing patients by noon, work on notes/follow up consults till 3 and home by 4 at max. Love the 7 days off: what other specialty offers that?

#214401 Reply
    Participant