Menu

Help Uncover All pre-tax deferral options

Home Tax Reduction Help Uncover All pre-tax deferral options

Participant

Trying to find all my options to put away money and reduce my taxable income for the year…

I have a single member LLC S corp where I work as a contract dentist for a private office.  I will make around 225K this year, and have that broken up into my reasonable salary W2 income (70K) and the rest as qualified distributions/dividends.

I currently have a solo 401K where I max out both employer portion (17.5K done as a Roth per advise from my CPA), and max out my employee portion (19K done as a Traditional tax deferral).  Am I allowed to do this as such? I heard somewhere else that the employer portion has to be pre-tax traditional.

I also do the backdoor Roth IRA each year.  I want to do more tax deferred savings, but can not find the vehicles to do this.  I heard about doing the SEP IRA, but then I could not do the Roth IRA.  Can I do the SEP IRA and max out the 20% from the employer portion, and then just roll it over to the solo 401k before Dec 31 each year to max this out?

I can’t do the HSA.  I have heard of UTMA and something else similar for the kids, so I may try this.  Just trying to brainstorm a little here for my specific situation.  Any help is greatly appreciated!

Thank you!

#229297 Reply
    jfoxcpacfp jfoxcpacfp 
    Status: Financial Advisor, Accountant, Small Business Owner

I think you’re letting the tax tail wag the dog. An s-corp does not seem (to me) to be indicated for only $225k of income (but you’ll get a tax deduction for what you’re paying for payroll preparation, bookkeeping, and tax services. Is that your primary goal, or putting more money in your pocket?)

You cannot contribute to a SEP and a 401k in the same year. Yes, employer 401k profit-sharing is pre-tax. Your CPA needs to do some tax planning with you on the Roth contribution, not sure I agree with him/her. And you can contribute $19k this year.