Menu

Help recharacterizing Roth IRA contributions

Home Beginners Helping Beginners Help recharacterizing Roth IRA contributions

Participant
    medical school scholarship sponsor

I am new to investing and have a quick question about recharacterizing Roth IRA contributions.

In January 2019 I contributed $6000 to my Roth IRA, as I do every year during residency.  Because of moonlighting income it turns out that I will exceed the yearly limit to remain eligible for Roth contributions. My plan is to recharacterize the contribution to a traditional IRA and then shortly reconvert it back to the Roth IRA via a backdoor. My question is how much to recharacterize? Should I recharacterize only $6000, as that was the amount that I contributed to the Roth IRA in January 2019? Or should I recharacterize $6000 plus all the earnings so far this year on that $6000, because this investment has increased in value since January.  If the second option is correct and I recharacterize $6000 plus approximately $500 earning so far in 2019, can I then convert the total $6500 back to the Roth IRA or can I only convert $6000. I know this question is confusing and I would really appreciate any help you can give.

Thanks,

Sam

#236282 Reply
    Faithful Steward Faithful Steward 
    Participant

Just convert it all and pay the small amount of taxes on the growth.

On a separate note, you don’t have any Traditional IRA or SEP IRA money hat will cause you pro-rate rules, do you?

Michael Peterson, CFP® | Faithful Steward Wealth Advisors
    https://ProsperousPhysician.com | (717) 496-0900

#236319 Reply
    Participant