Menu

Help! … Need advice on this sample contract sent me.

Home Practice Management Help! … Need advice on this sample contract sent me.

Participant

I am a 3rd year FM resident and looking to move to the large city in the midwest.  I had a phone interview with a large non-profit hospital and they sent me their pay structure and I am trying to figure out some of the verbiage. I will be flying there in 2 weeks for a face to face but want to be prepared with questions.  I do plan on getting a lawyer to look at the final contract.   I am looking non-profit for my large student debt (> 400K) and currently on PSLF).  Outpatient Clinic. 4 Day work week.   Anyway … Here is their sample pay structure they sent me:

Projected Worked RVUs: 5000

Median Rate: $47   (NOTE: all numbers have been rounded up or down)

Base Primary care compensation:  85% of the 25th% (subject to productivity adjustment) 192K x 0.85 = 163K

Base Value Compensation (assuming a perfect score in all measures)   15% of the 25th percentile  = 192K X 0.15 = 29K   (I am rounding the numbers)

Productivity Compensation: 

Tier 1 – 35th percentile to 50th – 75% of the median rate (4800-4300) x ($47 x 0.75) = ~19K

Value Compensation (assuming perfect score) 15% of the median rate (4800-4300) x (47 x 0.15) = ~ 3K

Tier 2 – 50th percentile met (4300-4000) x 47 + (4900 – 4300) x ($47 x 0.10) = ~20K

Tier 3 – 50th-75th percentile met ( 5000-4900) x (47 x 0.8) = ~4K

Value Compensation (5000-4900 x (47 x 0.15) = ~1K

Tier 4 – GT 75th percentile (Same pay structure as Tier 3)

Added all up … Total Approx.  240K

Questions:

1) Is this fair for a new FM Attending (all outpatient)?

2) What should I be negotiating?

3) Is my math correct below?

99214 = 1.50 wRVU  and 99213 = .97 WRVU =  Average should be 1.24 wRVU per Patient   (If 50% 99213 and 50% 99214)

Monthly RVU   ~417  (5000 /12)