Menu

Help me help my parents!

Home General/Welcome Help me help my parents!

• DrMoneyTails DrMoneyTails 
    Participant

Cross posting from the bogleheads.. I need some ideas!

I am a physician and an independent contractor (sole proprietor).
    My father, who lives outside of the USA, recently had a major health problem that is preventing him from working his usual job and I am having to help him financially with about 2 thousand dollars a month.
    Is there any way I can hire him so I can reduce my taxable income? A few ideas that came to my mind: hire him as a virtual personal assistant or a virtual planner, etc. Can I legally do that? What are the proper ways to go about that? Anything I can legally pay for him to do for me from another country?
    Or is that any way I can use this in order to make this more tax efficient? Essentially what I have been doing for the past several months is simply wiring him post-tax money to pay for his medical expenses, etc. I am happy I am in a position to help my father but would also like to make this a little less “financially painful”.
    Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

#206027 Reply
    Participant

Ordinary and necessary expenses for a business purpose will be deductible.

Personal assistant or planner doesn’t seem to be headed that way. You are also running into employment tax issues. Sounds like a personal problem to me.

Your only shot is employing him in the business.
    I don’t see a path to outsourcing that you describe.

#206036 Reply
    Liked by jfoxcpacfp, Craigy
    Participant

If he needs $2k net each month it seems that you’re need to pay him more than that to cover his income taxes.

#206100 Reply
    CordMcNally CordMcNally 
    Participant

Outside of the US? What country? That’s quite a bit for many countries outside the US.

“But investing isn’t about beating others at their game. It’s about controlling yourself at your own game.”
    ― Benjamin Graham, The Intelligent Investor