Menu

Have 150k in loans- getting large inheritance- pay off loans or PSLF?

Home Personal Finance and Budgeting Have 150k in loans- getting large inheritance- pay off loans or PSLF?

Participant
    Splash Refinancing Bonus

Hi Folks,

I’m a new intern with 150k in student loans, all from med school. I’m an IM intern, probably going to do Cardiology and likely Interventional after that. There’s a good chance I’ll be working for a nonprofit after that too

At this point, ‘m staring down the barrel of 7-8 years more of training. Luckily my dad beat some financial sense into me as a kid, and throughout undergrad and in a gap year, I maxed my Roth. I’m planning on doing at least that throughout Residency and fellowship if not more, as life permits.

My grandpa, when I was a newborn, bought a small building in a city in a country that has rapidly industrialized in the last two decades. That shabby building is now in one of the most expensive areas of that city now. I own a 1/3 portion of that building, and that’s worth around 200k USD now. My dad plans on selling it in a few years- it’s getting around 7k USD in rent per person per year right now, but as none of us live in that country anymore and it has byzantine rules/corruption, my dad wants to sell.

Once I get this money,what should I do? I know I’m in a fortunate situation

1)Pay off Loans

2) Once I’m settled, use the money as down payment for a house and try to use PSLF.

3) Put the money in an investment account and just invest in the Vanguard 500 or something safe but with decent returns. And let life dictate what to do- if Private Practice, just pay off loans.If nonprofit, PSLF and use the money for house or something

Option three seems the wisest to me, but I’m no financial guru

#230850 Reply
    Participant

Pay off the loans. Would be pretty amazing to be in residency/fellowship with no loans or obligations

#230860 Reply
    Liked by Zaphod
    jfoxcpacfp jfoxcpacfp