Menu

Getting started in rental real estate

Home Real Estate Investing Getting started in rental real estate

Participant

Well last week we were contemplating purchasing a rental property out of state where daughter goes to grad school ~ Chapel Hill, NC.  For various reasons, the math just would not work.  However, this experience has me interested in rental real estate.  As a novice, I see this a binary issue.  Go the low energy low time approach and invest in REIT OR go high energy & possibly high time approach to own individual properties. My concern is that with individual properties, I would be in direct competition with real estate professionals ~ hence at a distinct disadvantage (obviously many WCI have been rewarded handsomely as owners of real estate ~ so this can’t be all true).  As I have heard, it is often all about acquisition price that leads to future profit.   Please show me the light.  Thanks for your time and thoughts.

#187500 Reply
    Participant

i’m sure some have been rewarded handsomely but most just get middling returns. And you’ll rarely hear about the people who take a dump.

My rental real estate is a nice thing to have, but it’s not making me rich. Even with modest taxes, no HOA, and a low interest mortgage, expenses eat up half or more of the rent each year.

Remember that the competition for your investment dollars includes a plain old stock index fund. It’s hard to beat that for simplicity and tax efficiency, and you’ll likely earn 10% annually over a few decades.

If you do buy real estate, remember the money is made on the buy. If you buy the right property at the right price the rest will work out. If you don’t, you’ll always have a dog.

#187521 Reply
    Liked by StateOfMyHead
    wonka31 wonka31 
    Participant

Real estate isn’t quite as binary as you made it. Direct ownership, Syndication (multifamily, warehouse, storage, NNN, office, retail), notes, land.