Menu

Getting a Mortgage & Moving for Residency

Home Mortgages and Home Buying Getting a Mortgage & Moving for Residency

Participant

Is it possible to get approved for a mortgage if you’re moving states away for a residency? As a new grad, I know you wouldn’t have any qualifying income yet, but would signing your residency contract allow you to get approved? What if your significant other has a stable income in your current state?

#196590 Reply
    IlliniGopher IlliniGopher 
    Participant

You’re about to get 10 posts saying don’t buy a house.  Brace yourself.

Also — 5 rules I tell all the residents:

1. Don’t buy a house until you are at your first job 2 years

2. Live like a resident for 5 years after your first job

3. If you worry about losing or damaging it, don’t buy it (car, Canada Goose jacket, luxury watch/wallet/purse)

4. Don’t do a chief year (if it’s an additional year of training)

5. Only do fellowship if you can’t live without it (internal medicine specialties)

"Comparison is the thief of joy." - Teddy Roosevelt

Faithful Steward Faithful Steward 
    Participant
    5 rules I tell all the residents

Click to expand…

Sage advice. Love it!

Michael Peterson, CFP® | Faithful Steward Wealth Advisors
    http://www.fswealthadvisors.com | (717) 496-0900

#196597 Reply
    Participant
    Earnest refinancing bonus

Possible, yes. Recommended, no.

#196604 Reply
    portlandia portlandia 
    Participant

I’m hoping this is a troll post, either that or you inadvertently posted here instead of on a real estate agent/home loan originator forum. Please take some time to read more on this site and then you will have a good belly laugh about your question.

#196624 Reply
    Lordosis Lordosis 
    Participant

Not only is it possible but it is easy.  They will bend over backwards to give you a loan for 0-5% down.

The question is if you should be buying a house or renting.

“Never let your sense of morals prevent you from doing what is right.”