Menu

Future Partnership Buy In Loan – Pay Off Credit Cards or Build Savings?

Home General/Welcome Future Partnership Buy In Loan – Pay Off Credit Cards or Build Savings?

Participant

I’m in my last year of residency, and I have a signed contract for a 12 month associateship in a private practice to begin next July. According to the contract, after 9 months of being an associate the owner and I will discuss/decide if we will move forward with partnership. If we agree to move forward with the partnership, I will need a rather large loan (somewhere near $800,000-900,000 if collections prior to my arrival stay consistent).

Here’s my personal financial situation. I currently have $400,000 in student loans (in REPAYE) as well as $45,000 on credit cards (7 cards, recurring 12 month 0% balance transfers  with 3% transfer fee). The credit card balance is a function of financial ignorance prior to discovering WCI. We are no longer adding to the balance. My credit score is ranging between 670-710 over the last 6 months. I have minimal savings  ($3,000-4,000).

My question relates to obtaining a loan for the purchase of a practice. Do you think a bank would give better rates if I have a significantly larger emergency fund and/or down payment, or would it be better to pay off the credit card balances ASAP?  I am currently planning on trying to do both aggressively as an associate, but anticipate I will not be able to completely pay off the $45,000 and save ~$40,000 for emergency fund and/or down payment.

What do you value more?  I know one thing for sure – I’m tired of paying the 3% transfer fee.

Thanks for your input!

#244429 Reply
    jfoxcpacfp jfoxcpacfp 
    Status: Financial Advisor, Accountant, Small Business Owner