Menu

First year resident wanting to get started on the right track

Home Beginners Helping Beginners First year resident wanting to get started on the right track

Participant
    Earnest refinancing bonus

I am a first year resident who will be doing a five year residency with an additional 1-2 year fellowship. I am going for PSLF because my program is technically a non-profit. I have approximately $330,000 in all federal loans. I have a $20,000 emergency fund set up. I just opened a Roth account at Vanguard and put in $1,000.

My question is how should I manage my finances from this point on? I have been told to maximize my roth account. Also I want to know where should I store money? should I move any of my emergency fund to a better savings account that will make more than what wells fargo makes? (which is nothing)? Thanks for the guidance everyone.

#240568 Reply

Yes Ally

Yes max rIRA.

#240577 Reply
    Liked by kobeshaq824
    Participant

Does your employer have a retirement plan and a match? If there is a match, you may want to contribute enough to get that match. Are you pursuing PSLF? You could increase your tax deferred contribution to decrease your AGI and reduce your overall payment. You can also refinance your loans to a better rate and have a $100/month payment if you decide to forgo PSLF.

Emergency should go into high yield savings. The online banks have good rates, but some local and regional banks have better rates (just search the web).

Do what you can to reduce spending.

If they have a free financial advisor, be weary of signing up for anything.

Also, if you can do a 1 year fellowship instead of 2, do that (assuming it’s the same work).

#240582 Reply
    MPMD MPMD 
    Participant

make you are doing meticulous tracking of your PSLF qualified payments after you make triple sure you are on a qualified repayment plan.