Menu

Finding a realtor with a rebate

Home General/Welcome Finding a realtor with a rebate

•  Ryan 
    Participant

If you have experience finding a “discount” or “rebating” buyer’s agent, would you comment on the experience? Redfin offers 1% rebates for going with their realtors, but they have limited experience buying higher value homes.

I'm a physician. I also write software and build websites as a side-gig.

#40055 Reply
     MichaelB 
    Participant

If you have experience finding a “discount” or “rebating” buyer’s agent, would you comment on the experience? Redfin offers 1% rebates for going with their realtors, but they have limited experience buying higher value homes.

Click to expand…

I don’t know anything about rebates, but I’ve found most realtors will discount their commission on a higher value home. You just have to ask. I would interview prospective agents and tell them your price range. Make sure they have experience in that price range first of all. Ask their commission (probably 3% range), then ask if they would be willing to do it for 1.5%. That’s the most we’ve ever paid as a buyer.

#40090 Reply
     MichaelB 
    Participant

Just to clarify- obviously the seller technically pays the commission, and the buyer’s agent would split the commission with the listing agent.

if you agree ahead of time on a reduced commission (say 1.5%), and the buyer’s agent stands to make 3%, the other 1.5% is credited back to you at closing.

#40091 Reply
     huruta 
    Participant

We bought in 2012 for $650k (considered high for our area at the time) and used Redfin and got a rebate. Great deal. I think times have changed but we’d definitely consider using them again, though we have no plans to move for a very long time. We got 1/2 of our realtor’s fee back.

#47960 Reply
    Hank Hank