Menu

Financial Plan Question

Home Beginners Helping Beginners Financial Plan Question

Participant
    Splash Refinancing Bonus

Hey everyone, I’m currently a 1st year ENT resident who’s been a long time reader of the blog and forum. I’ve finally started to implement my own financial plan and feel fairly confident based on everything I’ve read. However, I wanted to know if I could ask for some other opinions as well since having a fresh set of eyes would be beneficial.

Stage of life: 27 yo ENT intern

Social Situation: Currently engaged to a physical therapist. We’re planning our wedding now, but don’t have any specific time frame. Renting an apartment in the northeast, although not in any of the major cities

Annual  Income: $52,170. My fiance currently works at a job in the NYC area with an income at roughly $90,000, but will be moving to be closer to me at a job with an income at roughly $65,000 a year.

Net worth: My own net worth currently based on my debts, savings, and other assets would most likely be -$200,000. My fiance’s would be roughly -$150,000 based on the same factors.

Tax Bracket: 22% for myself and 24% for my fiance, but she will likely be down to the 22% bracket with her new job

State of Residence: New York

Insurance Policies: My health insurance policy is a plan costing me $114.66 a month with an annual deductible of $500 for single payers and $1000 for family payers. I also have an own occupation disability insurance plan with Guardian/Berkshire Premier account for $5000 monthly with a future income rider of up to $20,000 a month. Currently do not have life insurance, but was debating getting a policy in place while I am still young and I don’t have any noted chronic medical conditions