Menu

Finally an owner … late to retirement planning … where to?

Home Retirement Accounts Finally an owner … late to retirement planning … where to?

•  ThruTheForrest 
    Participant

first post, so here goes!  Im a dentist and purchased / bought in to my current practice at 50% (only 1 partner) in late 2017.  i’ve been out for 5.5 yrs, but the first few yrs were very rocky, and retirement planning was last on my list of things to “get done”, and i didn’t know {profanity deleted by mod} about finances (thanks mom).  paid off tons of CC debt, moved a few times, got married, was unemployed for a short period, and bought a house.  but my 2018 was a fantastic year and i’m finally financially sound at this point. our practice is a s-corp with only two members, my partner and my self.  we do not have any profit sharing or retirement plans set up through the office (my partner doesn’t want to for a number of reasons, so that is currently not an option).  i want to set up retirement for my self (wife has hers through her work).  i have done my first backdoor Roth this month, but i dont know my options for doing a 401k.  im pretty sure i’ve read on here that i can get a solo 401k, but im not sure on the parameters on that.  i could very well incorporate myself, but i would not have an income.  I am a W2 through my office, and we do monthly distributions (K1).

basically, where do i go from here?  last year i spent 30k on a truck for my wife and was able to save about 100k that is currently sitting in savings (wife wants a high “emergency” fund.  this account will be smaller once i know where to put the money).  i have 2 term life policies (personal and keyman), maxed out DI, and large umbrella personal insurance on all cars and house).

mortgage is less than 200k remaining (we over pay and will pay off in 6 more yrs)

student loans ~250k refinanced paying ~3k / mo (10 yr note)

practice note ~800k paying 8100 / mo (7 yr note)

savings / emergency ~100k