Menu

Emergency Fund in Money Market Account

Home Beginners Helping Beginners Emergency Fund in Money Market Account

Participant

I am a resident in a dental specialty who will be finishing up in May and beginning my first job in June.  As of now my emergency fund is really only ~2k in a savings account because  I was making very little money during residency.  Based on what I have gathered from the WCI, I plan to open a money market account at Vanguard where I have mine and my spouse’s Roth IRA accounts as well to begin funding a more respectable emergency fund.  Just wondering why money market funds are good for this purpose?  Are there no taxes for taking money out of it even though it is a brokerage account?  Am I able to freely deposit and withdraw money like a savings account?  Any clarification would be greatly appreciated.  Thanks.

#202094 Reply
    Lordosis Lordosis 
    Participant

Right now the MMF at Vanguard is offering rates just as good as the high yield savings accounts online.  I was already using Vanguard as you are and for me it was just easier to plop my E Fund in the Prime MMF then open an account at Ally or similar.

Just like a bank account you are taxed on your interest but not on what you take out.  Some of the MMFs have some tax advantages but their yield is lower and you would have to run the numbers in your situation to see if it is worth it.  I doubt it would be worth it your first year post training though.

You can deposit and withdrawal as you please.  I am not sure if there is a limit but if there is it has not effected me.

Best of luck!

“Never let your sense of morals prevent you from doing what is right.”

#202096 Reply
    Dreamgiver Dreamgiver 
    Participant

Here is a good recap:

Which Vanguard Money Market Fund?

You’d have to run the numbers to see what is convenient in your tax bracket and the state you live in. I use VUSXX but it has a $50,000 minimum.

#202100 Reply
    Participant